In the midst of uncertain economic times, Californians can find hope in new minimum wage laws that took effect on January 1, 2021. Not only has the state minimum wage increased, but so have wages in several cities.
Changes to California’s Minimum Wage Requirements
Changes to the state minimum wage requirement include:
- Employers with 25 employees or less: Minimum wage is now $13.00 per hour
- Employers with 26 or more employees: Minimum wage is now $14.00 per hour
These state guidelines are certainly promising in light of the federal minimum wage continuing to lag in many states.
In addition to the state requirement, several jurisdictions have also increased their minimum wage requirements. A few notable examples include:
- San Diego: $14.00 per hour
- Oakland: $14.36 per hour
- Los Angeles: $15.00 per hour
- San Jose: $15.45 per hour
Employees must understand minimum wage requirements in their city and state.
What Employees Should Know About Wage Increases
It is essential for employees to know the minimum wage requirement and to make sure that they check their paystubs to ensure they are being paid correctly. Employers are required to pay employees at least the minimum wage that is required of them. Failure to do so is a violation of the employees’ rights.
Have Questions about Minimum Wage Laws?
If your employer is not paying you the wages that you are entitled to and deserve, or if you have questions about minimum wage laws, contact Lipeles Law Group. Our employment law attorneys are here to help ensure that your rights are upheld and that you are paid fairly and justly. Call us for a free consultation and see how we can help you. You can reach us at 855-565-2566.